Clear by Carys Davies

£12.99

Julie’s review;

What a book! Wonderful writing from start to finish – concise and spellbinding, no word is wasted. Rooted in the history and natural environment of the Scottish Islands. Perfect for fans of Claire Keegan and Kathleen Jamie, such a pleasure to read, it’s gone straight on to my favourite’s list!

Available – Ready for despatch or collection within 5 - 7 days

ISBN: 9781803510408 Category: Tags: , , ,

Description

1843. On a remote Scottish island, Ivar, the sole occupant, leads a life of quiet isolation until the day he finds a man unconscious on the beach below the cliffs. The newcomer is John Ferguson, an impoverished church minister sent to evict Ivar and turn the island into grazing land for sheep. Unaware of the stranger’s intentions, Ivar takes him into his home, and in spite of the two men having no common language, a fragile bond begins to form between them. Meanwhile on the mainland, John’s wife Mary anxiously awaits news of his mission. Against the rugged backdrop of this faraway spot beyond Shetland, Carys Davies’s intimate drama unfolds with tension and tenderness: a touching and crystalline study of ordinary people buffeted by history and a powerful exploration of the distances and connections between us.