Hedgewitch by Skye McKenna

£12.99

YOUNG READER REVIEWS

I loved this magical tale! It’s a fantasy adventure full of friendship and surprises. I loved the characters because they seemed so real and I saw myself in them. It was the kind of book that you don’t want to end! I’d recommend it for 9-11 year olds. By: Freya (age 11). Rating: 5/5.

At first glance, this may appear your average ‘unloved child discovers magic land’ tale, but I can assure you – it’s much, much more. ‘Hedgewitch’ is witty, thought-provoking, and will definitely not satisfy cravings for handsome heroes and grand balls! Featuring a cavern, an enchanted forest, and a talking cat, this book is challenging but it will not disappoint. Happy reading! By: Lupita (age 10). Rating: 4.5/5.

When Cassie Morgan moves to Hedgely, the border between England and Faerie, she becomes a witch and starts a perilous journey to find her mother. I would recommend this book for readers age 9-12 who are looking for an easy yet gripping read. Fans of Michelle Harrison will love this book. I’m looking forward to the sequel!! By: Farah (age 11). Rating: 4.5/5.

In Stock – Ready for despatch or collection within 24 hours

Description

‘Magical in every sense of the word’ Eoin Colfer

First in a five-book series for readers of Nevermoor, The Worst Witch and The Dark Is Rising.

Cassie Morgan has run away. After seven years spent waiting for her mother to return, she flees her dreary boarding school and sets out to find her. But the world outside her school is full of hidden magic and children have been going missing.

With the help of a talking cat and a flying broom, Cassie escapes to the enchanted village of Hedgely. There she will begin her training in the practical skills of witchcraft with the Hedgewitch, who watches over the Hedge, the vast forest that marks the border between England and Faerie.

‘There are only two sorts of fantasy story: the ones that feel fake and the ones that feel real. It’s hard to explain the difference but you know the real ones when you read them, and Hedgewitch is one of them’ Philip Reeve